48 Hour Film Project Lures Me In

Liz and Jim were on a team. When Liz told me it was Andrew’s team for the 48-hour Film Project in Salt Lake City my first thought was why didn’t they ask me? We actors are so egocentric. I mean I was the one who introduced Liz to Andrew in the first place. So I messaged Andrew and he said of course I could join them. He said he didn’t ask because he sees from my FB posts that I’m always busy. Never too busy for friends and an all-nighter! Plus, I’ve always wanted to do this event – at least once in my life-and I’ve never been in town over the dates. This time I am.

The 48-Hr Project is a national competition that starts at the city level. This year, 120 cities on six continents will host a 48-hour weekend. Teams gather on Friday night- in this case May 31, 2013, at 6 pm where Team Captains reach into a ‘hat’ and draw out a genre. It could be any one of these:

  • Buddy Film
  • Comedy
  • Crime/Gangster
  • Dark Comedy
  • Drama
  • Fantasy
  • Horror
  • Mistaken Identity
  • Musical or Western
  • Romance
  • Sci Fi
  • Superhero
  • Thriller/Suspense
  • Vacation or Holiday Film

We have 48 hours to script, shoot, edit, score and produce a film between 4 and 8 minutes. The catch is that organizers draw a character, a prop and a line of dialogue out of a hat that MUST appear in all the films in some way.

Here are some examples from previous years:

Character

  • Bitsy Ballou, Advice Columnist
  • Ignazio del Fuego, Cab Driver
  • Hugh Simon, Bouncer

Prop

  • Large Suitcase
  • Snow Globe
  • Electric Fan

Line of Dialogue

  • Is that the best you’ve got?
  • I was lied to and very much deceived.
  • When you say it like that, it’s almost poetry.

Everything created will be screened next Wednesday, June 5, 2013. A winner is chosen and they will continue on to compete against the winners from the other cities at Filmapalooza in Hollyweird next March.

The overall winner at Filmapalooza 2013 was “Jacques Serres” by Les Productions avec Volontiers so you can see how far this project reaches. There were winners from Cape Town, the Netherlands, Prague, Denver, Baltimore, etc.

Maybe we win; maybe we don’t but I look at this as an awesomely intense team building experience. Our team consists of Andrew Hook, Robyn Adamson, Liz Baker, Jim Stevens, Cami Twede, Joe Hatfield, and little ‘ol me. We could still use some grips/PAs if you want to get in on the fun and I’m sure if you’re an actor, Andrew can find a way to work in a cameo. Find him on Facebook and send him a message.

Back in 2001, when the 48-Hour Project was first conceptualized, Mark Ruppert and several other DC filmmakers wondered, “Would films made in only 48 hours even be watchable?” Of course, some aren’t but I sure hope ours will be!

Leave a Reply

